The qualification provides a framework for learners to develop skills that will enable them to become competent in End User Computing. It introduces theoretical concepts of End User Computing and requires the application thereof, to develop a range of skills that will enable learners to be better-informed workers in their chosen industry. The qualification provides a balanced learning experience that lays the foundation for access to further education, lifelong learning and to productive employment.

  • SAQA Qualification ID: 78965
  • Duration: 12 Months
  • NQF Level: 4
  • Minimum Credits: 165

  •  Communicate effectively with fellow IT staff & users of information systems.
  •  Demonstrate an understanding of different types of computer systems and the use of computer technology in business.
  •  Demonstrate an understanding of problem solving techniques, and how to apply them in a technical environment.
  •  Demonstrate an understanding of Computer Technology Principles.
  •  Demonstrate an understanding of Computer Programming Principles.
  •  Work effectively as a team member within a development project environment.
  •  Carry out, under supervision, a small sized task to demonstrate an understanding of the knowledge, techniques and skills needed to understand the fundamentals of Computer Programming. 

National Certificate: Information Technology (End-User Computing) NQF Level 3


Grade 11 or NQF Level 3 qualification with compulsory competency in communication, mathematics and computer literacy.

  • Introduction to computers
  •  Microsoft Office
  •  Internet usage
  •  Effective business and report writing
  •  Oral Communication
  •  Managing Finances
  •  Practical Mathematics
  •  Statistics
  •  Understanding of HIV/AIDS in a workplace
  • Managing teams


  •  Introduction to computer technology
  •  Networking Architecture
  •  Computer programming
  •  Internet software development
  •  Analysis of Infrastructure
  •  Complaints management
  •  IT systems diagnostics